Metro Home Improvement Program

The City of Urbandale with the collaboration of nine other metro cities participates in The Metro Home Improvement Program. The purpose of the program is to preserve affordable housing stock within our community. The participating cities are Ankeny, Altoona, Bondurant, Grimes, Johnston, Pleasant Hill, Polk City, Urbandale, West Des Moines and Windsor Heights.

The Program is currently accepting applications from homeowners interested in the program. The Program is able to assist three to four homeowners per funding period. Homeowners that are not assisted presently will be placed on a waiting list for the next available funding.

The assistance is for housing repairs such as sump pump installation, basic repairs (walls, roof, foundation), building systems (electrical, plumbing, heating), weatherization (insulation, windows, siding), handicap accessibility (ramps and bathroom facilities), as well as any city code violations up to $12,500. The awards are in the form of a five-year forgivable loan to eligible households with income less than 80% of the Area Median Income (AMI) for Polk County. Eligible property types are single family dwellings and do not include mobile homes, homes being purchased on contract, duplexes or rental units. The house assisted must be the primary residence of the applicant and assessed below $200,000. Property taxes, mortgage payments and insurance must be current. The Metro Home Improvement Program is administered by the City of West Des Moines. The program is funded through the participating cities and the Polk County Housing Trust Fund. For further information or a program application, visit the West Des Moines website or contact Christine Gordon or Kay Schoon, at the City of West Des Moines, at 515-273-0770.

Contact Us

  1. Christine Gordon

    Housing Planner
    Ph: 515-273-0770

    Kay Schoon

    Housing Secretary
    Ph: 515-273-0770


    4200 Mills Civic Parkway
    West Des Moines, IA 50265


    (Excluding Holidays)
    Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.